INSPECTIONS AND CERTIFICATION

Advantages of the french certified plants

Shallot plant certification aims to: guarantee the quality of plants purchased by farmers and promote the diffusion of genetically enhanced plants.
It takes 6 years to produce a certified plant. The first three generations are systematically propagated under insect-proof tunnels, safe from any risk of exterior contamination. Unhealthy or heterogeneous families are destroyed.

Insect-proof tunnel

The fourth and fifth generations may be propagated under tunnels or in open fields. Any plant presenting defects is destroyed: non-compliant (variety), diseased plants (white rot, viruses).

The last generation is propagated in open fields. Once again, as with previous generations, any plants presenting defects are destroyed.

Open-field propagation

Requirements as defined by technical regulations for certification by the French Ministry of Agriculture apply throughout the process.

Shallot plant certification is based on two important criteria:
• varietal identity and purity
• phytosanitary status


Varietal identity and purity

In France only varieties that are registered in the French catalogue or the European catalogue can be produced and certified. Confirmation of varietal identity is therefore mandatory, as well as compliance with varietal purity requirements (99% for the first generation).
Inspections are carried out from the beginning of propagation and over the successive generations of plants.

^ Top


Phytosanitary status

Phytosanitary status is another important prerequisite for shallot plant certification.

The pedoclimatic conditions in France are ideal for producing quality shallot plants. A number of geographical areas offer favourable conditions for the phytosanitary selection of plants belonging to the genus Allium.
Only land that has not been cultivated with plants of the genus Allium in the last five years can be used for propagation.

Preventing nematodes

In addition to these requirements, propagation must comply with very strict regulations. For one thing, it must meet the prerequisites set out in the genealogical scheme for production, which requires the use of F0 starter material (supplied by the maintainer and which is compliant with the variety as described by the CTPS at the time of registration in the official French or European catalogue), and a limited number of generations (maximum of 6).

Nematodes

Inspections are carried out at every stage of the propagation process in order to detect harmful organisms.

Inspections are chiefly focused on harmful organisms (white rot, nematodes, viruses) that are likely to disadvantage the buyer. Diseased plants are removed, destroyed or turned down for certification.


Inspections

Inspections are carried out at every stage of the propagation process: pre-cultivation, cultivation, analysis of samples at harvest. In order to be certified, plants must comply with standards applying to French production. Evaluation sheets drawn up during inspections are recorded in a computerized database.


Packaged certified plants

Once plants have been certified, they are packaged in sealed bags bearing an official certification label (blue label).

^ Top

Home Home

Le contrôle et la certification

L'intérêt du plant certifié d'échalote français

La certification des plants d’échalote a une double finalité : garantir la qualité des plants pour les agriculteurs et favoriser la diffusion du progrès génétique.
La production de plants certifiés est un processus qui dure 6 ans. Les trois premières générations sont conduites sous tunnel insect-proof, à l’abri des contaminations extérieures. Les familles malades ou hétérogènes sont supprimées.

Tunnel insect-proof

Les 4e et 5e générations peuvent être conduites sous tunnel ou en plein champ. Toute plante présentant des défauts est éliminée : non-conformité à la variété, maladies (notamment les plantes atteintes de pourriture blanche et les plantes virosées).

La dernière génération est conduite en plein champ. Là aussi toutes les plantes présentant des défauts sont éliminées comme pour les générations précédentes.

Multiplication en plein champ

Tout au long de ce processus les règles définies dans le règlement technique du contrôle et de la certification pris par arrêté du ministère de l’Agriculture doivent être satisfaites.

La certification des plants d’échalote porte sur deux critères importants :
• l’identité et la pureté variétale
• l’état sanitaire

L’identité et la pureté variétale

En France, ne peuvent être produits et certifiés que les variétés inscrites au catalogue national ou au catalogue européen. Le contrôle de l’identité variétale est donc obligatoire, de même que le respect d’une norme de pureté variétale (pour la dernière génération, elle est de 99 %).
Les contrôles se font dès le départ puis au cours des générations de multiplication successives.

^ Haut de page


L’état sanitaire

L’état sanitaire est l’autre composante principale de la certification des plants d’échalote.

La France a une situation pédoclimatique privilégiée pour produire des plants de qualité. Plusieurs aires géographiques sont favorables à la sélection sanitaire des plantes du genre Allium.
Également les champs de production ne doivent pas avoir porté de culture de plantes du genre Allium depuis au moins 5 ans.

Préparation du contrôle
des nématodes

Outre les dispositions précédentes, les cultures de plants répondent à des règles très strictes de production. Elles doivent d’une part satisfaire au schéma généalogique de production, qui prévoit notamment l’utilisation de matériel de départ F0 (fourni sous la responsabilité du mainteneur de la variété et conforme à la variété telle qu’elle a été décrite par le CTPS lors de son inscription au catalogue officiel français ou européen), et un nombre limité de génération au champ (6 au maximum).

Contrôle des nématodes

Et, d’autre part, faire l’objet de contrôles vis-à-vis des organismes nuisibles du plant d’échalote, à toutes les étapes du schéma de multiplication.

Un certain nombre d’organismes nuisibles (pourriture blanche, nématode, viroses) sont particulièrement contrôlés car préjudiciables pour l’acheteur. Les plantes atteintes sont épurées ou des parties de parcelles détruites ou refusées à la certification.


Contrôle en culture

Les cultures font l’objet de contrôles à tous les stades : contrôles en préculture, contrôles en culture, analyse d’échantillons à la récolte. Pour pouvoir être certifiés, les plants doivent répondre aux normes appliquées à la production française. Toutes les opérations de contrôle donnent lieu à des fiches de notations qui sont reprises dans une base de données informatiques.


Sac de plants certifiés

Enfin au terme de ce long processus, la procédure de certification s’achève par la fermeture inviolable de l’emballage des plants et par l’apposition de l’étiquette officielle (certificat ou vignette bleues). Elle constitue un instrument d’identification facile du lot de plant qui va lui permettre de circuler librement à l’intérieur de l’Union Européenne. Elle est aussi un instrument de traçabilité qui permettra de retrouver l’historique du produit en cas de problème.

^ Haut de page

Retour à l'accueil Retour à l'accueil