The french production

France, the country of quality shallot plants

All the prerequisites for quality

France is recognized worldwide for the quality of the garlic plants it produces. French garlic crops are grown in a rich and diversified soil in favourable climatic conditions, and the industry involves a network of skilled professionals covering all areas of garlic plant production, from plant breeding to marketing. Strict production standards have been determined and are rigorously applied by all involved in the industry in order to guarantee garlic plants comply with the highest quality and food safety standards.

A favourable soil and climate

The pedoclimatic conditions in France are ideal for producing quality garlic plants in a wide range of varieties. Over 10 varieties are propagated over 125 ha in 4 regions: Brittany, Pays de Loire, Auvergne and Rhône Alpes. These regions have a long tradition of cultivating shallot and optimum climatic conditions. Long crop rotations, 5 years and more, improve soil quality and reduce the damage caused by pests and disease.


Over 25 years of close collaboration between public research institutions and professionals

The INRA (Institut National de la Recherche Agronomique), and its subsidiary company Agriobtentions (since 2003), have been working in close collaboration with professionals for over 25 years in order to cover all aspects pertaining to shallot cultivation: (meristem cultivation, cross-breeding, research on diseases: viruses, rot…). This collaboration means the industry is always at the cutting edge of progress, and capable of meeting both the requirements of farmers and demands tied to the changing face of the market.


Breeding all types of new shallot varieties

Breeding is currently carried out by Agriobtentions as well as a few commercial breeders with the help of numerous partners (farmers, cooperatives, GIE…). Varieties are selected based on precocity, conservation, bulb shape and colour, and resistance to disease (downy mildew) etc... Trials are carried out through an organized network in order to better evaluate plant behaviour.




Strict methods applied to shallot plant production

In order to obtain the best quality garlic plants, professionals have implemented a strict production scheme. First generation plants are propagated under insect-proof tunnels in order to prevent viral contamination and are disinfected by thermotherapy against nematodes.



Closely monitored production

Throughout their growth cycle, plants are closely monitored by SOC-approved technicians (SOC: Official Inspection and Certification Body). Samples are tested and checked for nematodes (which require strict quarantine measures). Mandatory laboratory tests carried out on batches rather than propagation plots aim to guarantee the quality of plants as standards grow stricter. For instance, French certification standards are stricter than those established by European Directives.



Producer farms that are equipped with high-end technology

Plant propagation is performed on farms by highly skilled and specialized farmers. This work is carried out by 42 farmers and cultivated acreage is approx. 135 ha. This task requires highly skilled workers and appropriate equipment for production and conservation.

Satisfied customers

Readily identified by a blue label (certificate or label delivered by the SOC), farmers and amateur gardeners can purchase garlic plants that meet SOC certification standards.




^ Top

Home Home

La filière française

La France, pays de la qualité du plant d'échalote

Toutes les conditions de la qualité sont réunies

La France est un pays reconnu pour la production de plants de qualité. Elle bénéficie de sols et climats favorables et diversifiés. De la création variétale jusqu’à la commercialisation des plants, il existe un réseau de compétence à tous les niveaux de la filière. Par ailleurs, l’ensemble des acteurs de la filière ont défini et partagent des règles de production très rigoureuses pour obtenir un haut niveau de qualité des plants, en particulier sanitaire.

Des sols et des climats favorables

La France bénéficie d’une situation pédoclimatique privilégiée pour produire des plants de qualité concernant une large gamme de variété. Plus de 10 variétés y sont multipliées sur plus de 150 ha répartis dans 4 régions : Bretagne, Pays de Loire, Auvergne et Rhône Alpes. Ces régions où se cultivent traditionnellement l’échalote bénéficient de bonnes conditions climatiques. Des rotations culturales longues, 5 ans et plus sans allium, sont favorables à un bon état sanitaire.


Plus de 25 ans de relations étroites entre la recherche publique
et les professionnels

L’INRA (Institut National de la Recherche Agronomique), puis sa filiale Agriobtentions (depuis 2003), ainsi que les professionnels ont développé depuis 25 ans des relations étroites et permanentes pour couvrir l’ensemble des recherches sur l’échalote (culture de méristèmes, croisement, recherche sur les maladies : virus, champignons…). Ces collaborations permettent à l’ensemble de la filière de se maintenir à la pointe du progrès pour prendre en compte les besoins des agriculteurs ainsi que les exigences de l’évolution du marché.


Une création variétale dynamique pour tous les type d’échalote

Elle est réalisée actuellement par Agriobtentions et quelques sélectionneurs privés à laquelle collaborent de nombreux partenaires (agriculteurs, coopératives, GIE…). Les variétés sont sélectionnées sur la précocité, conservation, forme et couleur des bulbes, résistance aux maladies (mildiou) etc… Elle s’appuie sur un réseau d’essais pour l’évaluation du comportement.




Des méthodes rigoureuses pour la production de plants

Pour obtenir un haut niveau de qualité, les professionnels de la filière ont mis en place un schéma très strict des productions de plants. Les premières générations sont multipliées sous tunnel insect-proof pour éviter toute contamination virale et souvent désinfectées par thermothérapie pour éviter les nématodes.



Une production sous contrôles intensifs

Tout au long de la végétation, des techniciens agréés par le SOC (Service Officiel de Contrôle) visitent et notent les cultures. L’absence de nématodes (parasite de quarantaine) par analyse d’échantillon en laboratoire est vérifiée. Ces analyses en laboratoire des lots plutôt que la terre des parcelles de multiplication est une volonté de la filière d’obtenir des plants d’une qualité irréprochable. D’ailleurs, la France a des normes de certification plus sévères que les directives européennes.



Des établissements producteurs de haute technicité
et bien équipés

Le travail de multiplication des plants au champ est confié à des agriculteurs particulièrement compétents et très spécialisés. Cette production est réalisée par 37 agriculteurs sur 150 ha. Elle nécessite un haut niveau de savoir faire et des équipements appropriés à la fois en production et en conservation.

Des utilisateurs satisfaits de la qualité des plants

Reconnaissable à l’étiquette bleue (certificat ou vignette délivrée par le SOC), les agriculteurs et les jardiniers amateurs trouvent à leur disposition des plants qui répondent aux normes de qualité exigées par la certification.




^ Haut de page

Retour à l'accueil Retour à l'accueil