The gardener's corner

Growing and harvesting shallots

Shallots are one of the easiest and most simple vegetable to grow!

Step-by-step instructions for growing shallots

• soil: Shallot plants fare best in light sandy soil, and do poorly in heavy damp soil. For clay soil, plant in raised beds in order to facilitate surface water drainage.

• fertilization: in well-kept vegetable gardens, shallots grow well in soil containing the remains of fertilizers used for previous crops. Avoid spreading manure just before planting. If organic fertilizers have been applied to soil, wait 5 to 6 months before planting shallots.

• planting: choose a spot that has not been cultivated with plants belonging to the Allium family (garlic, onion, leek) in the last 3 to 5 years. Plant bulbs so the tip is just showing, and firm the soil around them. Depending on size, plant 12-20 cm apart in rows 25-40 cm apart.

• caring for plants: shallots are very ecological. Hoeing the soil around the bulbs on a regular basis without damaging them is enough to keep plants healthy. During prolonged periods of dry weather, watering the soil during the formation of bulbs is enough to keep the plants growing well. Using certified plants is a good way of preventing the spread of diseases (viruses, rot, nematodes), plus certified shallots rarely require chemical treatments against diseases.

Harvesting

Shallots can be harvested for use as green onions, or after the tops have died down as dry bulbs which are used in the same way as garlic or onions.
For use as green onions: harvest plants as needed as soon as the bulb is formed. Certified shallots are entirely edible (leaves + bulb) when harvested for use as green onions.
Shallots harvested as dry bulbs: harvest plants when tops have died down (half or two-thirds) and leave bulbs to dry in the sun for 2 to 3 days.

Shallot planting and harvesting calendar



<< Choosing shallot plants     Storing shallots >>     ^ Top

Home Home

Le coin du jardinier

Comment planter et cultiver l'échalote au jardin amateur

La culture de l’échalote est une des plus simples et des plus faciles à réussir !

Les étapes de la culture

• le sol : l’échalote préfère les terres légères et sableuses, et ne se plaît pas dans les sols trop lourds, humides et asphyxiants. Dans les terrains argileux qui se ressuient mal, on peut cultiver en butte pour faciliter le drainage.

• la fumure : dans un jardin bien entretenu, l’échalote se contente des reliquats de fumure des cultures précédentes. Il faut éviter les apports de fumier juste avant la culture. S’il y a un apport de matières organiques, il faut respecter un délai de 5 ou 6 mois avant la plantation.

• la plantation : il faut choisir de préférence un emplacement où vous n’avez pas cultivé d’allium (ail, oignon, poireau) pendant 3 à 5 ans. A la plantation, les bulbes sont enfoncés la pointe en haut, pour bien asseoir leur base légèrement dans la terre. Suivant les calibres utilisés, la distance de plantation entre les rangs est de 25 à 40 cm et 12 à 20 cm séparent les bulbes sur le rang.

• l’entretien : l’échalote est une culture écologique. Des binages réguliers, sans endommager les bulbes, suffisent à maintenir la culture propre. En cas de sécheresse prolongée, un arrosage au moment de la formation des bulbes suffit à obtenir une belle culture. L’échalote nécessite rarement des traitements, si on a pris soin de mettre en terre des plants certifiés pour éviter les maladies transmises par le plant (virus, pourritures, nématodes).

La récolte

On peut récolter l’échalote en vert ou sec.
Pour la récolte en vert on arrache les plantes dès que le bulbe est formé au fur et à mesure des besoins de la cuisine. Les plantes bien vertes issues des plants certifiés permettent de consommer aussi bien les bulbes que les feuilles.
Pour la récolte en sec on arrache les plantes quand les feuilles sont à moitié ou aux deux tiers sèches et on laisse sécher les bulbes au soleil 2 à 3 jours.

Calendrier des plantations et récoltes



<< Choisir les plants     Faciles à conserver >>     ^ Haut de page

Retour à l'accueil